The Southwest Texas Regional Advisory Council (STRAC) is designated by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to develop, implement and maintain the regional trauma and emergency healthcare system for the 22 counties in Trauma Service Area - P (TSA-P). TSA-P has a mixture of urban, suburban, rural and frontier areas, from the 7th largest city in the US to the Mexican border, encompassing over 26,000 square miles in southwest Texas. STRAC is one of twenty-two regional advisory councils in Texas that comprise the Texas Trauma / Emergency Healthcare system.

STRAC is a 501c3 non-profit, tax-exempt member organization consisting of 53 general and specialty hospitals, including 2 Level I Trauma Centers, 16 PCI centers, 11 Stroke centers, air medical providers, and over 70 EMS agencies.

A leader in the Texas Trauma System, STRAC has been recognized twice as the Texas Regional Advisory Council of the Year (2000 and 2008). STRAC oversees dozens of essential programs and projects for the trauma and emergency healthcare system in and around San Antonio, Texas, partnering with members, local government, and non-governmental organizations.

Our Values

MISSION: To reduce death / disability related to trauma, disaster, and acute illness through implementation of well-planned and coordinated regional emergency response systems.

VISION: We will be the model regional trauma, disaster, and emergency healthcare system in the united states that results in the lowest risk-adjusted mortality for emergency healthcare conditions.

Regional Response Teams


Emergency Medical Task Force

One State. One Team. Responding to disasters of all sizes.

Swiftwater Rescue Team


Our region has some of the most highly skilled swiftwater rescue teams in the nation.

High Angle Rescue Team

High Angle

We are proud of our Award-Winning High Angle Rescue Team

Current Initiatives


Copyright STRAC 2012-2016